City of London tips: charges, permits and opening times
London
- ChargesNo price list published
- BookingNot stated
- VansNo permit scheme
- Proof of addressNeeded
What the tip charges
| Item | Price |
|---|---|
| Rubble / hardcoreAccepted as DIY waste; limit one car boot load per month; no charge published | No charge published |
| SoilNot mentioned on the Tower Hamlets RRC page | No charge published |
| PlasterboardNot accepted | Not accepted |
| TyresNot accepted | Not accepted |
| AsbestosNot accepted | Not accepted |
| Gas bottlesAccepted (listed under what to bring); no charge stated | No charge published |
Free DIY allowance
Tower Hamlets: 'Only one car boot load per month of DIY waste is allowed (includes bricks, rubble, and infill/hardcore etc).' No charge stated.
From City of London's pages, quoted or summarised.
In England, councils can't charge householders for their own DIY waste up to two 50 litre bags, or one item up to 2000 x 750 x 700mm, per visit, for up to four visits in four weeks. They can charge above that. Check your load.
Vans, pickups and trailers
No permit scheme stated
No permit scheme. Residents using a van sign a declaration that the waste is from their own home; all vans weighed on the weighbridge. Commercial and sign-written vehicles not permitted.
- Height barrier
- 1.94m
Do I need to book?
Booking rules not stated
No booking requirement mentioned on the official pages
Proof of address
Yes, bring proof of address
City of London residents must show both photo ID (driver's licence/passport) and a recent council tax bill
Mattresses and sofas
- Sofas and furniture
- Furniture accepted at the RRC (no charge stated); City also offers bulky waste collection via its Contact Centre (charge may apply)
The tip and opening hours
Opening hours are our short summary of the council's page. Bank holiday and Christmas hours often differ.
Good to know
The City of London has no recycling centre of its own. City residents may use the Tower Hamlets Reuse and Recycling Centre (Yabsley Street), with photo ID and a recent council tax bill. Tower Hamlets publishes no price list.