Hampshire tips: charges, permits and opening times

South East

What the tip charges

What Hampshire says it charges
ItemPrice
Soil and rubbleper part or whole 50-litre rubble sack (or per individual item). above free allowance; not accepted at New Alresford£3
Plasterboardper part or whole 50-litre sack; per sheet or part sheet. above free allowance; not accepted at New Alresford or Hayling Island£6 per sack / £10 per sheet
Oversized plasterboard (over 2000x750mm, up to 3000x1200mm)per oversized sheet. larger sheets not accepted£10
Asbestos (cement-bonded)per sheet or part sheet. Andover, Basingstoke, Efford, Netley and Portsmouth only, phone to pre-book; max 15 sheets, max 1200 x 600mm each£12
TyresNot accepted at HWRCsNot accepted
Gas bottlesNot statedNo charge published
Oversized single DIY items (over 2000 x 750 x 700mm)Charged as oversized items; price not givenNo charge published

What the council says about dates: Free allowance from 1 January 2024; no date on prices

Council's price list

Free DIY allowance

Each Hampshire household may dispose of DIY construction/demolition waste free 'up to eight 50-litre rubble sacks or four single items per 4-week period'; part sacks round up; the full allowance can be used in one visit. Origin household address given at booking.

From Hampshire's pages, quoted or summarised.

In England, councils can't charge householders for their own DIY waste up to two 50 litre bags, or one item up to 2000 x 750 x 700mm, per visit, for up to four visits in four weeks. They can charge above that. Check your load.

Vans, pickups and trailers

Permit needed: £20 administration fee per permit

Permit needed for household waste in a van, pick-up or trailer at any Hampshire HWRC: one vehicle, up to 12 visits or 12 months; max two permits a year (24 visits). Digital permit, no documents needed on entry (pre-24 Feb 2026 trailer permits are paper). Hire vans allowed for hires of 3 days or fewer, with hire agreement.

Van and trailer rules on the council's site

Do I need to book?

Booking required

'You must book an appointment to access a HWRC.' Bookings open up to one week ahead; cyclists can book; pedestrians not permitted.

Book with the council

Proof of address

Not stated

Not stated; frequent visitors may be asked to sign a household declaration. Non-Hampshire residents have separate access rules.

All 26 tips and opening hours

Opening hours are our short summary of the council's page. Bank holiday and Christmas hours often differ.

Good to know

Hampshire's HWRC network includes the Southampton and Portsmouth sites (listed on the county finder). Card payment only. Crockery and clay/terracotta pots are outside the allowance but not charged.