Norfolk tips: charges, permits and opening times

East of England

Some details couldn't be confirmed

The council's pages didn't give everything below clearly, so some answers say "not stated". Check the council's own page before you go.

What the tip charges

What Norfolk says it charges
ItemPrice
Rubble, soil and stonesper 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item. 'pay as you throw' above the free allowance; per 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item; incl. VAT; cash up to £10, card above£4.50
Soilper 100 litres. 'pay as you throw' above the free allowance; per 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item; incl. VAT; cash up to £10, card above; priced with rubble£4.50
Plasterboardper 100 litres; £7 per half-bag (50 litres or equivalent). 'pay as you throw' above the free allowance; per 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item; incl. VAT; cash up to £10, card above; only at Caister, Dereham, Hempton, King's Lynn, Norwich North, Norwich South and Thetford£14
Tyres (car, motorcycle, scooter)per tyre (rimmed or unrimmed). 'current charge'; max five tyres per household per month; only at the seven main sites£6
Asbestosnot accepted at any recycling centreNot accepted
Gas bottlesnot readNo charge published
Flat glassper 100 litres or single item. 'pay as you throw' above the free allowance; per 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item; incl. VAT; cash up to £10, card above£6
Unsorted/non-recyclable DIY waste (e.g. roofing felt, plastic guttering, insulation, baths, turf)per 100 litres or single item. 'pay as you throw' above the free allowance; per 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item; incl. VAT; cash up to £10, card above£7
Timberper 100 litres or single item. 'pay as you throw' above the free allowance; per 100 litres (2 x 50 litre bags) or per single item; incl. VAT; cash up to £10, card above£4

Council's price list

Free DIY allowance

From 31 December 2023: 'a maximum of two 50 litre sacks or one item per visit' free; no single item over 200cm x 75cm x 70cm; four single visits with DIY waste in any four-week period

From Norfolk's pages, quoted or summarised.

In England, councils can't charge householders for their own DIY waste up to two 50 litre bags, or one item up to 2000 x 750 x 700mm, per visit, for up to four visits in four weeks. They can charge above that. Check your load.

Vans, pickups and trailers

Permit rules not stated

Do I need to book?

Booking required

'You must book to bring waste to a Norfolk Recycling Centre' (since 18 November 2024): 15-minute slots up to one week ahead, online or by phone; vehicle registration needed; applies to pedestrians and cyclists too. Booking is free

Book with the council

Proof of address

Not stated

Mattresses and sofas

Sofas and furniture
Upholstered seating accepted (Norwich North page); no charge stated

What the council accepts

All 20 tips and opening hours

Opening hours are our short summary of the council's page. Bank holiday and Christmas hours often differ.

Good to know

20 recycling centres (Mayton Wood listed as closed). Fridges/freezers only at the seven main sites. Trade waste charged by vehicle size at seven sites.