Portsmouth tips: charges, permits and opening times
South East
- Charges4 items charged
- BookingRequired
- VansPermit: £20
- Proof of addressNot stated
What the tip charges
| Item | Price |
|---|---|
| Rubble / hardcoreper part or whole 50-litre sack, or per individual item. Above free allowance; items over 2000mm x 750mm x 700mm charged as oversized (price not listed) | £3 |
| Soilper part or whole 50-litre sack, or per individual item. Above free allowance | £3 |
| Plasterboardper part or whole 50-litre sack / per sheet or part sheet. Above free allowance; oversized sheets (over 2000x750mm up to 3000x1200mm) £10 each; larger not accepted | £6 per sack; £10 per sheet |
| TyresNot accepted at HWRCs; use a garage or tyre centre | Not accepted |
| Asbestos (cement-bonded)per sheet or part sheet. Above free allowance; accepted at Portsmouth (also Andover, Basingstoke, Efford, Netley); phone ahead to pre-book; max 15 sheets; items over 1200mm x 600mm not accepted | £12 |
| Gas bottlesPropane/butane bottles up to 15kg accepted, excluding Calor; no charge stated | No charge published |
| Sinks, toilets, shower traysHampshire site page says these are charged beyond the DIY allowance; amount not listed | No charge published |
| Non-Hampshire residentsResidents outside Hampshire must pay to use HWRCs, paid at booking (see hants.gov.uk out-of-county page) | No charge published |
What the council says about dates: DIY allowance from 1 January 2024; charges undated
Free DIY allowance
From 1 January 2024, each Hampshire household may deposit up to eight 50-litre rubble bags, or 4 bulky items, free of charge every 4 weeks (Portsmouth page). Part sacks count as whole sacks. Must book, give the waste-origin address and declare DIY waste.
From Portsmouth's pages, quoted or summarised.
In England, councils can't charge householders for their own DIY waste up to two 50 litre bags, or one item up to 2000 x 750 x 700mm, per visit, for up to four visits in four weeks. They can charge above that. Check your load.
Vans, pickups and trailers
Permit needed: £20
Digital permit needed for vans, pickups or trailers 1.8m-3m long at any Hampshire HWRC; each permit gives up to 12 visits or lasts 12 months, whichever first; one permit per household at a time, up to two a year; new permit (pay again) if vehicle, registration or address changes. Commercial vehicles allowed only if a resident's only transport and with a permit.
Do I need to book?
Booking required
Book an appointment online before every visit (30-minute slots, up to 7 days ahead). Hire vehicles: enter 'HIRE VAN' and bring hire agreement. No waste on foot; bikes can book.
Proof of address
Not stated
Booking records the household address the waste comes from; no ID requirement stated. Non-Hampshire residents pay.
Mattresses and sofas
- Mattresses
- Accepted; no charge stated
- Sofas and furniture
- Accepted (keep whole where possible; ask staff where to put upholstered seating); no charge stated
The tip and opening hours
Opening hours are our short summary of the council's page. Bank holiday and Christmas hours often differ.
Good to know
Portsmouth residents can use any Hampshire HWRC under the same scheme. Card payment only for charges.