Wakefield tips: charges, permits and opening times

Yorkshire and The Humber

Some details couldn't be confirmed

The council's pages didn't give everything below clearly, so some answers say "not stated". Check the council's own page before you go.

What the tip charges

What Wakefield says it charges
ItemPrice
Rubble / brickaccepted, 'quantity limits apply' (limit not stated); no charge statedNo charge published
Soilnot mentionedNo charge published
Plasterboardnot mentioned on council or Biffa pages readNo charge published
Tyresaccepted (council list); no charge statedNo charge published
Asbestosmax 10 sheets/bags per year. household white cement resin bonded asbestos only, at Wakefield and Glasshoughton, appointment at least 24 hours aheadFree
Gas bottlesaccepted (council list); no charge statedNo charge published
Fridges (cash customers)no longer accepted from cash customers until further noticeNo charge published

Free DIY allowance

The council's pages didn't describe a free allowance.

In England, councils can't charge householders for their own DIY waste up to two 50 litre bags, or one item up to 2000 x 750 x 700mm, per visit, for up to four visits in four weeks. They can charge above that. Check your load.

Vans, pickups and trailers

Permit needed

Free residential permit for all residents. Trailers under 6ft x 4ft on a domestic car OK with residential permit; trailers 6x4 up to 8x6 on a car, and any trailer on a van/pickup/SUV, need a commercial vehicle permit (online). Max trailer 8ft x 6ft, bed load no more than 3m. Cost of commercial vehicle permit not stated

Van and trailer rules on the council's site

Do I need to book?

No booking needed for cars

No booking for normal visits; asbestos by appointment 24 hours ahead

Council's visiting page

Proof of address

Yes, bring proof of address

'You'll need a permit to prove that you're a Wakefield resident. You can get your free permit' online (biffawakefieldpermits.co.uk) or at the HWRCs; residents must show permit

Mattresses and sofas

Mattresses
Accepted (council list); no charge stated

What the council accepts

All 3 tips and opening hours

Opening hours are our short summary of the council's page. Bank holiday and Christmas hours often differ.

Good to know

Cash (paying) customers accepted subject to daily availability but no prices published. Winter hours notice: https://biffawakefield.co.uk/news/summertime-opening-hours-will-end-and-winter-opening-hours-will-commence-from-monday-26-october-2026/